7 Benefits of Pineapples

The pineapple is one of my favorite fruits in the world. I used to not like it because it kind of stings in the mouth and can be very sour. But as I grew up I learned to appreciate its tangy and sour to sweet taste, especially when I think of all its health benefits that the adults keep informing me about.

I’m pleased that these days we always seem to have slices of fresh pineapple in the refrigerator and that I can indulge in a slice or two anytime I want. But I still think my knowledge on the benefits of pineapple is limited, that’s why I thought of researching more about it on the web. Read on to know just seven of the many perks of eating pineapples that I’ve found out.

1.It lessens risk of hypertension. Hypertension occurs when too much force is exerted on the artery walls while the blood circulates. One of the best ways to combat this is to infuse a high amount of potassium plus a small amount of sodium in your diet to lower blood pressure. Pineapples are the perfect for hypertension because a cup of pineapple contains about 1 mg of sodium and 195 mg of potassium.

2.It helps you lose weight! Eating pineapple can highly cut down your sweet cravings because of its natural sweetness, saving you from a lot of sugar-induced calories. Incorporating a lot of pineapple in your meals will also help a lot in weight loss because pineapples can make you feel full without giving you an ounce of fat.

3.It maintains good eye health. Time and again, studies have found that pineapples protect against age-related eye problems because it is rich in antioxidants.

4.It fights a lot of diseases, being rich in Vitamin C. Pineapples are known to be a very good source of vitamin C, which protects our bodies from free radicals that attack our healthy cells. Lots of free radicals in the body can lead to major diseases like heart disease, diabetes, and various cancers. Vitamin C is considered the most important water-soluble anti-oxidant that fights against disease-inducing substances within the body. It is also an excellent fighter against flu and a great enhancer of the immune system.

5. It prevents plaque and keeps teeth healthy. Another benefit of the high amount of vitamin C in pineapples is that it prevents formation of plaque and gum diseases.

6. It cures constipation and irregular bowel movement. Pineapple is rich in fiber, making it effective in curing constipation and irregular bowel movement.

7. It keeps your skin beautiful! Pineapple contains enzymes that make skin elastic, improve skin hydration, and remove damaged and dead cells. Thus, it helps us achieve a clear and glowing complexion. The enzymes in pineapples also fight free-radical damage and can reduce age spots and fine lines.

Do you want to get all the health benefits of eating pineapple along with the best nutritional supplements out there?  Its used by thousands of medical professionals in the USA.  You have to check this out.

AddThis Social<br /> Bookmark Button Add to<br /> Technorati Favorites

58 thoughts on “7 Benefits of Pineapples

  1. I agree with you, pineapple are really good for health,but it’s rarely appreciated by kids because of it’s tangy taste, I always rub my pineapple with salt after peeling and the wash it off, it removes a good part of this tangy thing, so that the kids also can enjoy it’s benefits.

  2. some people ask me what’s my secret of beutiful skin. Now i know, it’s because i eat pineapple almost everyday. I alternate it with papaya for more than 10 yrs. my 9 yr. old daugther love it too.

  3. Didn’t know it helps with hypertension and plaque but I do know it really is good for curing constipation!

  4. hi, i would suggest you refrigerate the pineapple first. i noticed that every time i eat a cold pineapple (as in cold) you won’t experience a tangy taste!

  5. thanks for sharing such useful information.i,ll start eating pineapples now.pineapple is not the fruit,its the pedicel of a plant.

  6. Thanks for this! I found it quite insightful. I love pineapple but take it by stages & here lately I have been craving it. I love to keep fresh pineapple in the fridge. The only bad thing I’ve noticed, is that if I eat it every day, it makes my tongue sore; however, that’s not going to stop me from putting it in my diet.

    1. You are not alone. Pineapple contains an enzyme that can cause your tongue to feel prickly or even sore. But if you overcome that feeling, the health benefits outweigh the discomfort. However if the feeling of soreness or prickliness persists or worsens, or you feel your mouth or throat swelling, seek medical attention as it can be an allergic reaction.

  7. Thanks for this awesome blog! I love pineapples. Recently I have become very big on juicing and I would like 2 incorporate fresh pineapples in2 some recipes. Do u knw if the juice has these benefits?

    1. Any freshly squeezed juice has health benefits. Juicing is an incredibly healthy way to gain all the anti-oxident protection that your body need to ward off toxins. I too love juicing.

  8. Thank you for this educative informatioin,I appreciate that, keep the good work, hope you keep on educating us more on the importance of other fruits.

  9. Pineapple, indeed is an excellent fruit. I am 66 years of age and having been eating pineapple for the last 35 years almost every day. My skin is like an 20 year old. I simply love the fruit!

  10. Pineapple taste great’. ‘
    It’s healing power’s for Gout are Incredible, the bromelain [A peptide hydrolase obtain from pineapple used in treating Inflamation and adema of soft tissues assosiated with traumatic injury} absolutely helps any kind of flare up on my joint’s, better than taking indomethacin and the effects of the drug on the body. I’m happy to Increase the amount of pineapple as needed for the Inflamation Gout causes.

  11. I eat the entire pineapple just after the stem. It’s all fiber. The rind is very tasty and chewy and makes it even funner to eat! I’m telling you! Try eating the skin and all! You won’t waste anymore of it ever again! Even the hard core of it! It’s all fiber and fiber is good for you! I also have lost about 30lbs in the last 3 months buy eating pineapple and cutting the rest of my carbs OUT of my diet! It is such a beautiful fruit!!! I eat one within 4-7days time and I buy another one! GET TO IT!

  12. Thanku so much to give us good information about pineapple..
    b4 i read this i was thinking it will increase my weight but after read this i will eat pineapple..
    thanku again

  13. Be sure to puree the whole pineapple after removing the outer skin. Don’t miss the benefits of the center of this wonderful fruit. A good blender makes it into pineapple sause quickly with no waste.

  14. oh I’d eat anything that makes my complexion look good 😀 i’m having some pineapple right now as a matter of fact 😀 thanks for the article 😀

  15. When my mother was pregnant with my younger sisters she always ate pineapple and the rest she would boil. She ate at least 2 pineapples a day to help her swollen feet. So now you know pineapple also helps with inflammation. I also recently was told by my girlfriends that pineapple make every women very sweet.

  16. i eat pineapples a lot and just knew it in my heart that that it was good for me. now iam convinced. thanks for doing the research….julie

    1. As far as I know, some people experience a prickly feeling on their tongues from eating too much pineapple. One of my kids actually develops small adbrasions on her tongue when she eats a bit much. But as for anything else, I have not heard of any super bad side effect of eating too much pineapple.

  17. Wao, I neva knew that Pineapple has soo many benefits. Now that I know I will make it part of my daily diets. Tanx.

    1. the message from Bestactress said pineapple helps with intestional worms I don’t have them but I did have a paper that tells all about Pineapple I misplaced it, I need this one, actually I bought a pineapple a couple of days ago and can’t keep my hands away from it, so delicious and lots of health benefits, but I need the lists of health benefits
      mary

  18. I’ve become and regular eater of Pineapple over the last few months and have always suffered from irregular bowel movement and constipation. Now, I’m as regular as clockwork and never constipated anymore. I couldn’t work out why until I read this website. Now I know why! It’s Pineapple!!!!!

  19. Hey I heard pineapple isn’t good to consume after a womans menstrual. Is it true? Are there any defaults to eating pineapple as well? Besides having an allergic reaction of course. Would like to know. Thanks a bunch! (\__/)
    (>’•'<)
    (")__(")

    1. There is no proof that pineapple is bad for you during pregnancy. I actually craved it during all 3 of mine. 🙂

  20. Ive been drinking 1 can of pineapple juice with dices everyday and i really love it. didn’t know it has lot of health benefits until now! thanks for this article!

    1. Thats great news! Keep drinking because pineapple contains bromelain, an enzyme found to help break down inflammatory proteins in the body to relieve pain and speed healing of muscle, tendons and sprains. It even works to reduce sinus problems and arthritis symptoms. Many healing properties. Cheers!

  21. I AM VERY GRATEFUL FOR YOUR TEACHING ABOUT THIS KIND OF FRUIT, I WILL TAKE IT AS MUCH AS I COULD TO INCREASE MINERALS IN MY BODY AND TO STRENGTHEN MY BONES. THANKS A LOT

  22. I was searching for ways to use the skin of pineapple and found this blog. Loved all the good advice and comments on this delicious “fruit?”. Thought I would share with you my uses so far. After removing skins and core, I juice the entire fruit (do not add the core as it makes the pulp woody). One pineapple yields one large glass of pure juice. I keep the pulp which has collected and zap it in my blender with a tablespoon of the juice. This velvety smooth mixture can be frozen in icecube trays (yields one standard tray). It has endless uses. Can be added to yoghurt, put into a muffin mix or cake mix.
    I have been looking for ice cream or sorbet recipes. Let me know if you have any other ideas about this. I am diabetic so no added sugar for me.
    Cheers.

  23. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE BENEFITS OF THIS WONDERFUL FRUIT. LET US EAT MORE OF THIS TO HAVE SHINY SKIN, BETTER BOWEL MOVEMENTS,AND REDUCE OUR UNNECESSARY WEIGHT IN BODY

  24. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  25. First off I would like to say awesome blog!

    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my
    mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing but it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Kudos!

    1. Its really just whatever topic comes to mind or after conversations with friends and family about certain topics that spurn the creative juices. Being the health and wellness industry also helps. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment